Published Guest Comments - Many More in the Guest Book!

"Our recent three-night stay at the John Burroughs House - as we celebrated our son and daughter-in-law's fabulous wedding at The Roxbury Barn - was absolute perfection.  It is truly a magnificent place, combining its historic aura and atmosphere with every modern comfort and convenience anyone could ask for.  Amazingly spacious, immaculately clean, and beautifully furnished in the traditional style consistent with its beautiful mountain setting, the house easily accommodated our party of 10 family members, including a 4-year old and a six-month-old.  With features ranging from a large and fully-equipped kitchen and huge dining area to two spacious living room/sitting areas, the house provides substantial stretch-out room for large groups, while maintaining a classic, cozy, country feeling.  We certainly recommend the John Burroughs House to our family and friends, and would savor the opportunity to stay again!" ~ J&RD, New Jersey, May 2017 stay

"My family and I had the most spectacular time at your lovely home." The place was beautiful and there was not one thing that was lacking! My husband and I rent a fair amount in Maine, and have to bring everything but the kitchen sink.  Our son was married at the Inn at West Settlement and it was so nice to be so close. And what a beautiful week-end!  ~LM, Upstate NY, June 2016 stay

"What a terrific place for a family reunion" The owner has not just restored the property but has created a restoration beyond compare perfect for my four siblings and their spouses for my daughter's wedding. What a wonderful family reunion we had!   A perfect solution to any wedding or event in the Catskills ~DM, Catskills, May 2016 stay

"Groomsmen house for local wedding"  This is a beautiful house, well taken care of with lovely amenities like monogrammed towels! The house is huge with a great kitchen and dining room table and two living rooms. We rented this for the groomsmen and their significant others for our wedding and it was perfect to keep them comfortable and for wedding day pictures. I would definitely come back and stay here. Very close to the Inn at West Settlement. ~ KC, New Jersey, July 2015 stay

"Perfect spot for a family gathering!!" Everything was absolutely wonderful during our stay for our son's wedding at The Roxbury Barn this past weekend.  What a fantastic house the Burroughs Homestead is!!!  Beautifully and tastefully furnished, so well equipped and lovingly maintained.  It was the perfect place for our family, three generations in all, to assemble as we celebrated our son's wedding.  The weather couldn't have been better to boot!  I even saw a bobcat in the backyard the day we arrived.

"The wedding was lovely and I thank you again for all your wonderful suggestions regarding venues and vendors.  We had the rehearsal dinner and welcome party Friday evening in the newly restored barn in Kirkside Park.  It was great!  And Peg and Rich Ellsworth and their Ate O Ate team did a superb job catering the events.  The food, the setting, the service... everything was perfect.

"I look forward to returning to Roxbury sometime soon and hope we can stay at the Burroughs Homestead once again.  Last night, after everyone had packed up and headed home, I indulged myself and stayed on to pack up at leisure and enjoy the quietude of the setting.  I sat on the porch and took in the view, and then I read all the wonderful entries in the guest log.  What a treat it was to read everyone's shared positive experience staying at the house." ~ KC, Massachusetts, June 2014 stay

"Amazing house" Spent a week at this lovely home and skied Plattekill and Belleayre easily. Can't say enough positives about the home. It was very elegantly restored while keeping many of the antique features yet adding the modern conveniences of a terrific kitchen, mud room and two great TV's. Great for a family vacation or reunion, holiday house, etc. Property amazing as well with lots of hiking and nature viewing, we saw a porcupine and several deer. Can't wait to go back! ~ JC, New Jersey, February 2014 stay

"Everything you could imagine in your Catskills getaway, and even more"   "This place was just spectacular. The renovations are high end; the place is nice and big, yet still very cozy. What I was struck by most was just how stocked and accommodating the house was, from the kitchen tools, to the bathroom soaps. Best place we've stayed at so far in the Catskills, and we've been doing ski weekend every year for about 6 years. Rental was easy and low key. Highly recommend." ~ JC, Pennsylvania, February 2014 stay
 

"Breathtakingly Beautiful Property and Lovely Owner"  "This property has private, breathtakingly beautiful views of the Catskill Mountains. The interior and exterior have been beautifully restored, designed and very well maintained. The kitchen is lavishly appointed and very well equipped. We enjoyed our early autumn stay very much during our daughter's wedding at The Roxbury Barn, which is conveniently nearby. The owner was lovely to work with and was thoughtful and organized in every detail. We are charmed by this property and we would love to revisit someday!" ~ PH, South Carolina, September 2013 stay

"Perfect Home Base for Wedding Weekend"  "Our extended family including 6 month old to great-grandma celebrated a wedding weekend at this lovely house and could not have been more comfortable. Every amenity was provided and the home furnishings are beautiful. Our family and friends were totally at home enjoying sunrises on the front porch to meteor showers at night. The large dining table was filled from brunch through late night snacks. Our family enjoyed the spacious bedrooms, playing on the lawns and the spectacular views.We could not have felt more at home! The host was always accessible and provided more assistance than we expected. Absolutely wonderful visit-can't wait to return!" ~ Maryann, Long Island, NY, August 2013 stay

"We had a lovely stay at the Burroughs Homestead." "The house decor is comfortable and very cozy.  The furnishings are perfect in that wonderful outdoor setting that surrounds the home.  As ten adults staying for the weekend, we  were very comfortable and the dining room kitchen combination is spacious and makes cooking and dining a breeze.  We had such an enjoyable weekend at the home as well as the wedding hosted at The Inn at West Settlement. We enjoyed all of Roxbury, NY!!!" ~ Amy, Long Island, NY, September 2013 stay

"The house was beautifully furnished and well stocked with some necessary items like trash bags, foil, paper towels, etc which made the stay extra comfortable as the town is a little distance for supplies. The kitchen is a dream with every cooking supply needed and just very well thought out. We loved our stay and will be coming back again for sure. All of the communication and help was efficient, friendly and helpful and i have NO NEGATIVE comments at all. Thank you for making our trip wonderful!" ~ Elizabeth, New York, NY, August 2013 stay

"Beautiful Retreat"  "Just got back from a wonderful weekend away at this beautiful home. We were 3 families each with a young child. This house was perfectly suited for us. There is an abundant sleeping space along with multiple living rooms for hanging out. Most importantly, there is an extraordinarily amazing kitchen which has been newly renovated with brand new appliances. We spent most of our time in the kitchen/dining area which is tremendous. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this property!"  ~ Jason, Westchester County, NY, February 2013 stay

"My wife and I needed a place to stay for ourselves and four other couples that were travelling for a weekend wedding locally. My daughter-in-law (whose wedding was held that Saturday) had picked the place and we were very pleasantly surprised with the plush and immaculate accommodations when we arrived. The first floor bedroom with the bathroom next to it was perfect for our needs because of mobility issues. The attention to detail and knack for selecting furnishings and decorator colors were amply displayed in the end product of the restoration. The owner was very helpful and pleasant. 
"Everyone slept well on the comfortable beds. Our guests still comment on what a wonderful weekend they enjoyed at the house and what a memorable place it was to stay in. The panoramic view of the mountains from the porch as we sat having our morning coffee was outstanding. We brought some personal things for the kitchen (such as a coffee pot) which were not required because every amenity or utensil was provided. Since there were activities scheduled each day for the wedding we would like to have had more time to explore the surrounding area attractions. We enjoyed our stay and would give it a five star rating."  ~ Bill, Long Island, NY, September 2012 stay
 

"Four Generations Under One Roof"  "The Homestead turned out to be the perfect place for our family gathering, which included members from Iowa, Minnesota, Massachusetts and D.C. 

"Our first concern was accessibility for my 93-yr. old (great-grand-) mother, who walks with a cane. Entering the house was easy, and the first floor bedroom, with bathroom right next door, was ideal. She also enjoyed sitting out on the front porch, with its gorgeous view. We could all cluster comfortably in the kitchen, or spread out in the living room, den, backyard or front porch for quiet conversations. 

"I was not familiar with the Roxbury area prior to this; now I'm in love with it. The mountain air was glorious, and we saw Perseid shooting stars at night! The (mostly) lack of cellphone access was a total blessing: we were able to avoid all those nagging distractions, and just be present with each other. We cooked and ate, played Scrabble, watched family videos, took walks together, and played games on the lawn.

"It's a great place for this kind of multi-generational group. Comfortable furnishings inspired some of us to consider mattresses upgrades back home. The high-tech appliances took a little getting used to (providing extra entertainment!) but there were manuals to help, and the owner provided a notebook with useful information about the house and area. Prior to arrival, our questions were answered promptly, and we were given local contact information to use in case of emergency - which wasn't required, but was reassuring to have." ~ Kirkie, Boston suburb, MA, August 2012 stay

"Family Reunion" What a beautiful restoration of a fabulous home!! We traveled from SC for a family reunion. There was room for everyone without being on top of each other. A beautiful place to relax, so peaceful and quiet. Wish I had rememberd my binoculars. Sitting on the front porch in the morning with a cup of coffee or at Happy hour with a glass of wine, was so nice - excellent view. ~ EM, South Carolina, July 2012 stay

"Hidden Jewel With A Breathtaking View"  "The Burroughs Homestead provided my family with an amazing home base in Roxbury as we planned a large family function, a Celebration of Life for my mother in law, in the area. The setting and breathtaking views were perfect. When we stepped into the house, we were met with an inviting and tranquil atmosphere. With a spacious and well appointed kitchen, preparing meals was a lovely experience with the fruits of our labor to be shared at the rustic table in the dining room, on the front porch over looking the rolling hills, or al fresco at a cheery table in the garden. The living room provided a place to rest and unwind with plush couches, settees, and armchairs before the TV or woodstove. All three bathrooms contained everything one could possibly need including locally crafted soaps to be enjoyed in the large showers or clawfooted bathtub. And the bedrooms - each one beautifully arranged and decorated - were comfortable, airy, with more than enough space for storage. Each was a relaxing oasis! Our family's favorite spot was the front porch that afforded priceless views and opportunities for endless conversations. The proprietor's attention to detail in design, ammenities, and comfort of the guests is remarkable. It is obvious that much thought was put into insuring that guests would have a memorable experience even down to the felted hangers in the closets. The proprietor was terrific to work with always prompt in responding to questions and the personal note and samples of local products that greeted us were much appreciated! Being in the Burroughs Homestead made our time in Roxbury a complete joy and and we have already begun plans for our next stay." ~ Lo, Anchorage, AK, June 2012 stay

"Perfection"  "Our stay at the Burrough's Homestead was perfection. It was my mother's 90th birthday. We spent most of the week reminiscing on the front porch looking over the mountains and sky. Her childhood farm was in front of us, over the hill and we listened to wonderful stories. Perfect location! The view is incredible with no houses to disturb the landscape in any direction. 
The kitchen was a delight to use, and very well equipped. The colors, the furnishings, the accents combine to create an elegance in a casual setting. The property was very clean and well maintained. The amenities are first rate from the comfortable furniture to monogrammed linens. The all-around ease of the house allowed us to be together or not. We loved the porch and spent alot of time on it. The house works well for a large group. We had 8 people. The walks were special to Boyhood Rock and I read almost all of a biography of John Burroughs. The trip to Kirkside Park and Shepard Golf Course was also a highlight. I highly recommend this house to anyone who wants a quiet, relaxing vacation in the mountains."  ~ Anne, Nantucket, MA, May 2012 stay