The Homestead was built in 1850, on the site of the previous Burroughs family home, which had burned down. It was owned by the Burroughs family for nearly one hundred years, and since the 1950s, has been owned by three families. The current owners bought the house in 1997, and until 2009, rented it to two local families as a full-time residence. In 2010, the complete renovation and restoration of the Homestead was begun. All new heating, plumbing and wiring were installed; the dirt cellar crawlspace was sealed with concrete; supports were added for structural integrity; all ground floor windows and some second floor windows were replaced; and most significantly, the poorly-conceived rear addition (ca. 1930s) was removed and replaced with one true to the original architecture. A cook's kitchen was installed, and the walls separating the dining room, kitchen and utility room were removed to create a kitchen-great room. Finally, the land was regraded to divert the water which flows from the many hillside springs year round, away from the house and barn, and a new driveway approach was created. The restoration was superbly executed by Beaverdam Builders, Roxbury. The Homestead was furnished and appointed in consultation with designers at Restoration Hardware and Pottery Barn. The barn, the last of the three original Burroughs barns, was structurally restored, and is still in use today by the owners for hay storage for their horses which are stabled elsewhere on the property, which comprises a total of 325 acres. As much fun as it might be to explore, due to safety concerns, the interior of the barn must remain off limits to our guests.
John Burroughs, friend of Teddy Roosevelt, Henry Ford, Harvey Firestone and other luminaries, was born at this site on April 3, 1837. This stunning video captures the man on "the Home Farm."